Follow usFollow us on facebookFollow us on Twitter
The heats of WSK Open Cup reward the efforts of Palomba (KZ2), Turney (OK), Egozi (OKJ) and Schaufler (MINI) in Lonato
The heats of WSK Open Cup reward the efforts of Palomba (KZ2), Turney (OK), Egozi (OKJ) and Schaufler (MINI) in Lonato Gallery Lonato del Garda (ITA)
Saturday, September 18, 2021

Allegate 48 WSK Open Lonato heats 180921 eng - 540 Kb

Qualifying heats ended the first selection of the 250 drivers of the WSK Open Cup at the South Garda Karting circuit. The integral coverage of the final stages will be broadcast through the Live Streaming on Sunday, September 19th.

Lonato del Garda (ITA), 18.09.2021
Qualifying heats on Friday and Saturday ahead of the opening round of the WSK Open Cup named the finalists of MINI, OKJ, OK and KZ2 that will face the last hurdle of prefinals in the morning before contesting the finals in the afternoon at the South Garda Karting.

A lot of emerging talents switched to the higher category.
This round saw 250 verified drivers coming from 50 different countries and it is interesting to follow those that chose this event to switch to a higher category. Among these, Brando Badoer is at the debut in KZ2, the Colombian Matias Orjuela, the Thai Enzo Tarnvanichkul and the Australian Griffin Peebles in OKJ, while the rookies of OK are the Russian Alexander Gubenko, the Swede Sebastian Kinnmark, Slovenia’s Mark Kastelic, the Italian Flavio Olivieri, the Pole Gustaw Wisniewski, the Lithuanian Jokubas Bagdonavicius, the other Italian Emanuele Bruscino and Malta’s Zachary David.

Palomba on top of KZ2 after the heats.
The three heats of KZ2 had three different winners: in the order, these were the Dutch Stan Pex (KR Motorsport/KR-TM Racing-Vega), his fellow-countryman Senna Van Walstijn (CPB Sport/Sodikart_TM Racing) and the Italian Giuseppe Palomba (BirelART Racing/BirelART-TM Racing). Palomba secured the first position after the heats though as he won the third heat and claimed a second and third place in the other two heats. He secured P1 as he set the fastest time in qualifying practice.
KZ2, standings after the heats: 1. Palomba penalties 5; 2. Pex 5; 3. Van Walstijn 5; 4. Dalè 18; 5. Andreasson 20; 6. Rossini 25; 7. Buran 26; 8. Imbourg 32.

Turney leads OK.
In OK, the initial part of the weekend saw the Italian Luigi Coluccio (Kosmic Racing/Kosmic-Vortex-LeCont) posting the pole position time and taking the victory in the first heat. The Bulgarian Nikola Tsolov (DPK Racing/KR-Iame) did even better as he claimed two wins, and the Brit Joe Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) bettered him with two wins and the best position after the heats. The Russian Artem Severiukhin (Ward Racing/Tony Kart-Vortex) won one heat too.
OK, standings after the heats: 1. Turney penalities 2; 2. Coluccio 5; 3. Severiukhin 5; 4. Taponen 7; 5. Ugochukwu 9; 6. Kucharczyk 14; 7. Bertuca 18; 8. Del Pino Ventos 20.

The American Egozi on top of OKJ.
Category OKJ is particularly crowded, as 71 drivers made it onto the track. The victories went to the American Luis James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega), who already claimed the pole position in qualifying and kept his momentum taking four wins, as did the French Enzo Deligny (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing). Singapore’s driver Akshay Bohra (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame) won three heats, while the Brit Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn/Kosmic-Vortex) and the Hungarian Martin Molnar (Revesz/KR-Iame) claimed two. Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) had a positive debut.
OKJ, standings after the heats: 1. Egozi penalties 3; 2. Deligny 4; 3. Molnar 12; 4. Matveev 13; 5. Przyrowski 19; 6. Bohra 22; 7. Dedecker 22; 8. Keeble 23.

The Austrian Schaufler leads the One Hundred and One of MINI.
The most crowded category, MINI, counts 101 drivers at the start. A lot of nice duels took place in this category and the Austrian Niklas Schaufler (Emme Racing/EKS-TM Racing) came to the fore as the Italian Emanuele Olivieri (Formula K Serafini/IPK-TM Racing), that claimed four wins each. The Spanish driver Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing) won three heats, the Belgian Dries Van Langendonck (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing) two and the Italian Filippo Sala (Team Driver/KR-Iame) one, as the poleman Davide Bottaro (AV Racing/Parolin-TM Racing).
MINI, standings after the heats: 1. Schaufler penalties 3; 2. Costoya 4; 3. Olivieri 4; 4. Van Langendonck 10; 5. Bottaro 12; 6. Cosma-Cristofor 18; 7. Sala 18, Hoogendoorn 20.

Complete results are available at

The program of Lonato.
Sunday, September 19th
8:30 - 10.27 Warm up;
10:40 - 13:00 Prefinals in Live Streaming;
14:20 - 16:30 Finals in Live Streaming.

The WSK Open Cup 2021 calendar:
September 19th: 1st Rd WSK Open Cup, LONATO - MINI-OKJ-OK-KZ2
October 3rd: 2nd Rd WSK Open Cup, ADRIA - MINI-OKJ-OK-KZ2

WSK Promotion
Press Office
Ph. Sportinphoto TKart VegaLe Cont Panta Unipro Lap Timer SportInPhoto Ukart